Skip to main content

Omaha Magazine

2019 OEAA Winners Announced

Jan 28, 2019 01:44PM ● By Justine Young

The 13th Annual Omaha Entertainment & Arts Awards celebrated another year of prosperity and dedication to the arts last night, Jan. 27, at the Slowdown. View Omaha Magazine's livestream of the awards on Facebook (click here).

Hosts Beaufield Berry and Dominique Morgan opened the show with witty banter balanced between heartfelt sentiment and unreserved laughter. Other presenters throughout the evening kept up the hilarity with a flask bracelet, creative name (mis)pronunciations, and a running joke about a limp microphone that just couldn’t keep it up.

As winners’ names flashed across the screen, some of the most hardworking and talented Omaha creatives made their way towards the stage to accept their awards. In a happy misfortune, several winners were unable to attend due to active tours or performances, a testament to the commitment and success these artists are living. For those winners in attendance, an ongoing theme emerged through the acceptance speeches: a love for Omaha, overwhelming support between fellow artists, and many shout-outs to moms.

Lifetime Achievement Award-winner Houston Alexander said it best: “It’s never been about me; it’s always been about we.” The hip-hop artist, DJ, and athlete was honored for all his contributions to Omaha’s creative scene and his passion for helping other artists pursue their dreams. “We are here for all the artists and all the artistry in this building,” he said.

The evening featured uplifting and moving performances by several nominees and winners, including Pony Creek,  Trac Schacht, and Esencia Latina. Artist of the Year Award-winner Jocelyn also took to the stage with a last-minute song change to her new track, “Not in Your Name.”

Many thanks to the OEAA board of directors, sponsors, and donors for making this celebration of Omaha’s artistry happen. Omaha Magazine is honored to be a media sponsor of the awards. For more information on how you can support the OEAA and local artists, visit

See below for a full list of winners in 2019, and don’t forget to cast your vote in the 2020 awards (open now).

2019 OEAA Winners


Best Rock: Freakabout Best Hard Rock: Arson City Best Alternative/Indie: See Through Dresses Best Metal: Supermoon Best DJ: SharkWeek Best Americana/Folk: Andrea von Kampen Best Country: Clarence Tilton Best R&B: Dominique Morgan Best Soul: Mesonjixx Best Hip Hop/Rap: Dilla Kids Best Blues: Hector Anchondo Best Jazz: Mitch Towne Best Pop: Jocelyn Best Progressive Rock/Experimental/EDM: Plaque Blague Best Punk: R.A.F. Best World Music: The Bishops Best Cover Band: Secret Weapon Local Album of the Year: High Places, Matt Cox Artist of the Year: Jocelyn Best New Artist: Evandale Best Recording Studio: ARC Studios Best Live Music Sound Engineer: Dan Brennan

Lifetime Achievement Award

Houston Alexander

Visual Arts

Best Visual Artist: Watie White Best Emerging Visual Artist: Celeste Butler Best 2-D Artist: Camille Hawbaker Voorhees Best 3-D Artist: Bart Vargas Best New Media Artist: Ella Weber Best Group Show: Museum of Alternative History at KANEKO Best Solo Show: Love is a Rippling Circle, Camille Hawbaker Voorhees Best 2-Person Show: Everything All At Once, Victoria Hoyt & Camille Hawbaker Voorhees Best Public Art: 100 People, Watie White Best Presentation in a Non-Traditional Format: Cream on Top at The Butter Factory

Performing Arts

Best Director (Play): Denise Chapman, The Mountaintop Best Director (Musical): Jerry Jay Cranford, Newsies Best Actor (Play): Bill Hutson, Eminent Domain Best Actor (Musical): Regina Palmer, Once On This Island Best Supporting Actor (Play): Raydell Cordell III, Stupid F#%*ing Bird Best Supporting Actor (Musical): Cathy Hirsch, Singin’ In The Rain Best Youth Performer: Chloe Irwin, Parade Best Dramatic Play: Eminent Domain, Omaha Community Playhouse Best Comedic Play: Stupid F*king Bird, Omaha Community Playhouse Best Premiere of a New, Original, Local Script: Laura Campbell, Eminent Domain Best Musical: Newsies, Rose Theater Best Dance Production: African Culture Connection Best Performance Poet: Trac Schact Best Comedian: Aubree Sweeney Best Comedy Ensemble: Live! At the Backline Outstanding Lighting Design: Ernie Gubbels, The City in the City in the City Outstanding Prop Design: Amy Reiner, The City in the City in the City Outstanding Scenic Design: Robyn Helwig, Josh Mullady & Ben Adams, The Dairy Maid-Right Outstanding Costume Design: Erin Bragg, Van Gogh and Me Outstanding Sound Design: John Gibilisco, Eminent Domain Outstanding Choreographer: Sue Gillespie Booton, Newsies Outstanding Music Direction: Doran Schmidt, Spring Awakening

Visit for more information.